Posted in About Me, Fiction Writing, Just write

Inpiration

ImageI was trying to write a novel about a young girl growing up in rural Manitoba in the early 60’s. I say trying because this project was so overwhelming that it was beating me up every time I approached my desk. So . . . onward and upward with my new intention. This is not a scrapped project, just one that is sitting on a shelf – waiting for my muse.  I will be keeping this image close to my heart however.

My daughter has created a piece of art for me to use as inspiration. An artist and computer wizard, she is my biggest motivation. She just finished a huge internet design project involving hundreds of people, and her organizational skills and creativity kept her in the loop all the way. She is a true friend and gift to the artist in my spirit. She constantly adds challenges to my art to push me further into the creativity – for example, she will sit me down and let me start to draw on a page, but then turn the page on me and make me continue, then change my pencil to a felt marker and then later to a pencil crayon, all while turning the page different ways. Every time she sees me settling into my “box”, she shakes me up. She is a natural teacher and uses multi-media as if it was an everyday tool.

This is my daughter’s idea of a sketch for me to focus my young girl on . . .

 

Author:

I am an aspiring writer coming into my writing career later in life. As an accomplished entrepreneur, wife, mother and grandmother, I bring a wealth of experiences to my writing. Loving challenges and change, I embrace this new path with my custom focus and involvement, starting with research and education. Believing that you can never stop learning has kept me young and fresh throughout my life. This new venture is no exception.

2 thoughts on “Inpiration

Leave a Reply

