Posted in Uncategorized

Farewell to Summer

Canyon Creek logoSince May, hubby and I have been “living” in our trailer at Canyon Creek Campground in Hixon, BC. Of course our comfy home in Quesnel has been sadly neglected during this time because who wants to do housework in the summer? LOL

Kim and Merv at the campground allowed us to stay until October 4th even though the campground was officially closed as of September 29th. Although it was really cool at night (actually got down to -3 Celcius), I loved the chance to let my hermit wander in solitude. On October 4th, we tucked our trailer into bed with its blankie at the campground for the winter months. That was a very sad day even though the weather was saying “it’s time”.

Excel RV - QuesnelOf course bedtime for our trailer would not be possible without the handy help of Excel RV Repair.  Ray winterized our trailer at the campground and ensured she would be happy over the winter. Thanks Ray!

With the trailer taken care of, my home called my name loud and clear. How could I ever get all the “stuff” from our trailer fitted in to the house and get caught up on the cleaning and organizing? Needless to say, I procrastinated until the approaching Thanksgiving family dinner pressured me into making the difference. I am still finding some products in weird places – who put the box with the nachos and rice cakes in the bathroom closet? Being a senior means I really have to develop my sense of humor!

So now I can get back to my life. It feels like May till October was an escape from reality. Camping in 30′ means a lot less cleaning and work for me. (Especially if I ignore my home . . . lol.) Returning to my home and schedule gives a certain reassurance to me. Comfort. Now to get my Vitamin D out to get my energy back in the darker days of fall.

Good bye Summer. See you in May 2015.

Author:

I am an aspiring writer coming into my writing career later in life. As an accomplished entrepreneur, wife, mother and grandmother, I bring a wealth of experiences to my writing. Loving challenges and change, I embrace this new path with my custom focus and involvement, starting with research and education. Believing that you can never stop learning has kept me young and fresh throughout my life. This new venture is no exception.

Leave a Reply

