Posted in About Me

Farewell, Mikey

ImageThis was our special friend that we met in December 2013. We brought him home from the BCSPCA in Quesnel, BC, to foster over Christmas and “test out” with our 2 dachshunds. He was over 12 – unknown age. The vet said he could be as old as 16. When we brought him home he walked in, the dogs looked at him and ignored him, he moved in and cuddled right up to our hearts.

Night time brought him to our bed at our feet. He would curl up and cuddle with Lilah, our short haired mini-dachshund. Daytime meant he would be on my husband’s lap watching tv or sleeping, waiting for us to come home and love him.

I took him to the vet on Wednesday, and got a clean bill of health. He was healthier and happier than ever. This pic is of him, “chillin” in the vet’s office after having his weight and temperature taken. He was completely at ease. I took him to Bosley’s Pet Store afterwards and purchased a halter for him so I could take him walking at the camper this May. While in the store, he wandered about like the gentleman he was, and laid down for a rest. He was so laid back. I was so proud of him.

This morning he got up, sat on Dad’s knee and watched the news, had his breakfast, and while Dad was getting dressed upstairs, and Mom was down in the TV room, he had a seizure and a stroke and died. It happened in less than 5 minutes, while we were not even aware. He was gone.

What a blessing he was in our lives. He fit right in to our senior household. (Dogs are 12 and 14.) He was no bother and we felt that he had belonged with us for years. He will be missed.

Image

Author:

I am an aspiring writer coming into my writing career later in life. As an accomplished entrepreneur, wife, mother and grandmother, I bring a wealth of experiences to my writing. Loving challenges and change, I embrace this new path with my custom focus and involvement, starting with research and education. Believing that you can never stop learning has kept me young and fresh throughout my life. This new venture is no exception.

4 thoughts on “Farewell, Mikey

  1. you have so much great information in your blog. I struggle to get much reading time but I know I can learn plenty from you, Thank you so much and greetings… 🙂

Leave a Reply

