Posted in Love & romance

The Highwayman

One of my favourite writings of all time is The Highwayman by Alfred Noyes. I remember this from high school and my favourite class of English – grade 12. Our instructor encouraged us to share each poem, sonnet, short story with each other in an informal group session. Odd that this is one of my favourite poems of all time. Odd that my memory has not saved the full poem, only the sound of the horse on the cobblestones. Odd that my memory does not remember the tragedy of the innkeeper’s daughter, only the dream of the handsome highwayman. His promise of coming my moonlight is the promise I remember. I do not remember the body of The Highwayman. Rather, I remember the love of the handsome renegade who came by moonlight, the man who promised to come by moonlight and so he came . . . hear the hooves on the ground? Hear the sounds of battle? Feel the romance of the love of The Highwayman? Such is the romance of young love and an old woman’s dream – brought together in memory. Felt in the heart of a lover, the story comes back to me again.

So whether 16 or 60, remember the feeling, the emotion, the pure love, in the poetry.  Enjoy…

http://youtu.be/omg-sw-p7b8

Author:

I am an aspiring writer coming into my writing career later in life. As an accomplished entrepreneur, wife, mother and grandmother, I bring a wealth of experiences to my writing. Loving challenges and change, I embrace this new path with my custom focus and involvement, starting with research and education. Believing that you can never stop learning has kept me young and fresh throughout my life. This new venture is no exception.

Leave a Reply

