Posted in About Me, Uncategorized

Anger

I have wondered how people could express so much anger – anger to spouse, children, co-workers etc. Where does the confidence come from to show that anger and not be afraid that there wouldn’t be repercussions? No one gets so angry as to walk off – forever. No one goes off the handle and says FU to your face? Hmm . . . Haven’t felt the need to express that anger for a long time – but tonight, well, I have hit my proverbial wall.

After many years of accepting that the pattern of “ignoring” my opinion was ok, I quit! No more will I accept that my knowledge and experience of 60+ years is of no value. I am a professor at a College. I get paid for my skill of helping students learn – no, I do not teach!  I facilitate their learning. I watch for the “a-ha” moments and that means I can quit presenting and restating the information. The student “got it”!

So why does my mate, my husband of 35+ year, ignore my knowledge, my skill? Why does he feel that when it comes to “training” the uninitiated, that I have no value. A stranger accepts my skills more than my husband or my family. Why?

I believe it comes from the fact that I have not fought for the right to be correct! I haven’t told my family that they are wrong when they say “you don’t know”. Sorry Family! I do know! I am aware of how to teach. I am trained through my Provincial Instructor’s Program from Vancouver Community College to present the material in such a way as the END RESULT IS KNOWLEDGE!!!! How dare they assume that their mundane ways of confusion will present to the student as anything other than a confusion of information!!! Not Knowledge!

Yes, I am angry. I AM FURIOUS! To be so discredited by family is not only unfair, unnice, but infuriating! Next – confrontation.

Here it comes now. . .

Author:

I am an aspiring writer coming into my writing career later in life. As an accomplished entrepreneur, wife, mother and grandmother, I bring a wealth of experiences to my writing. Loving challenges and change, I embrace this new path with my custom focus and involvement, starting with research and education. Believing that you can never stop learning has kept me young and fresh throughout my life. This new venture is no exception.

Leave a Reply

