Posted in Uncategorized

Mother’s Day Reminder

Again the author of the “Finding Joy” blog has hit the proverbial nail on the head with her latest post: finding joy when mother’s day hurts just a bit.

There have been a few Mother’s Days in my past when I experienced dread. Some included my feeling resentful and angry. Even with my loving family around me, my frustration of doing too much and accomplishing not enough ruined my appreciation of my life.

Now as the “Matriarch”, the grandmother, my role has changed and I feel for my daughters. They are caught up in the “being a Mom” on Mother’s Day – pancakes, syrup and bacon, when they are trying to diet and avoid carbs and sweets. Messy kitchens when their kitchen is finally clean after a Saturday of housework and polishing. Crumbs in bed when they just changed the sheets yesterday.

This is the “benefits” of motherhood. On Father’s Day, the Moms work to give Dad his day of whatever he wants . . . special breakfast (where they clean up as well as bake), events such as mud bogging (who does that anyways?) and g0-carting. In exchange, Dad relies on what worked for “good old Dad”.

This Mother’s Day – I just want to send blessings to each and every one of you special ladies. BLESS YOU! YOU DESERVE IT!

Author:

I am an aspiring writer coming into my writing career later in life. As an accomplished entrepreneur, wife, mother and grandmother, I bring a wealth of experiences to my writing. Loving challenges and change, I embrace this new path with my custom focus and involvement, starting with research and education. Believing that you can never stop learning has kept me young and fresh throughout my life. This new venture is no exception.

Leave a Reply

