Posted in Uncategorized

Where is our Muse?

Break Free
Break Free

So much is in this quote shared on Facebook today by Janice Butler.

Iyanla Vanzant has always said to “do your work”. This is so very true. I just posted yesterday about achieving a goal by just doing it, instead of thinking about it!

And now this quote . . . I do believe the Universe has a message for me, and I am finally listening.  Write Hilma! Just do it! Do the work! Let the Muse come and assist me in my writing. She cannot help if I am not writing.

“This is the other secret that real artists know and wannabe writers don’t. When we sit down each day and do our work, power concentrates around us. The Muse takes note of our dedication. She approves. We have earned favor in her sight. When we sit down and work, we become like a magnetized rod that attracts iron filings. Ideas come. Insights accrete.” Resistance is experienced as fear; the degree of fear equates to the strength of Resistance. Therefore the more fear we feel about a specific enterprise, the more certain we can be that that enterprise is important to us and to the growth of our soul. That’s why we feel so much Resistance. If it meant nothing to us, there’d be no Resistance.”

… “Are you paralyzed with fear? That’s a good sign. Fear is good. Like self-doubt, fear is an indicator. Fear tells us what we have to do. Remember one rule of thumb: the more scared we are of a work or calling, the more sure we can be that we have to do it.”

– Steven Pressfield

Author:

I am an aspiring writer coming into my writing career later in life. As an accomplished entrepreneur, wife, mother and grandmother, I bring a wealth of experiences to my writing. Loving challenges and change, I embrace this new path with my custom focus and involvement, starting with research and education. Believing that you can never stop learning has kept me young and fresh throughout my life. This new venture is no exception.

Leave a Reply

