Posted in Uncategorized

Liver Transplant Support Group Meeting

Today I attended my first support group meeting for my son’s liver transplant in Vancouver.  I have to admit, after 7 months I was almost embarrassed to show my face. I thought everyone else knew each other and I was a late coming interloper.  I even felt nervous entering the room and finding a chair as far from the presenters as possible.  I was certainly mistaken about the welcome.

I met 10 liver transplant recipients today. Everyone of them had a different story to tell with some common elements running through all of them. Our experience was definitely outside any definition of norm, but everyone was encouraging and positive about the future. I needed to hear their words.

It seems as if we have been in Vancouver forever – and never heading home again. As silly as that sounds, it is certainly how we both feel sometimes. Unfortunately, the next meeting isn’t until December 7th and we are hoping to be home by then. I do wish my son could have attended with me to hear the words of the others. He would have left the meeting feeling the hope for the future that carried me home!

If you haven’t considered being an organ donor . . . please, check it out today!

http://www.transplant.bc.ca/index.asp

Author:

I am an aspiring writer coming into my writing career later in life. As an accomplished entrepreneur, wife, mother and grandmother, I bring a wealth of experiences to my writing. Loving challenges and change, I embrace this new path with my custom focus and involvement, starting with research and education. Believing that you can never stop learning has kept me young and fresh throughout my life. This new venture is no exception.

Leave a Reply

