Posted in About Me

My escape . . .

So when you start your day as a failure, there is only one way to go and that is up right? Could not get out of bed again today. Tired, down and reacting to something I ate. Emotionally feeling weak and down. Physically feeling yucky (and, yes, that is a real word!)

Got Chris to GF Strong for swimming by 1pm. Waited in the spiritual room and tried to get myself back on track emotionally. Seemed to be working quite actually. By the time Chris was done, I felt I could tackle the rest of the day. Both he and I agreed that we needed to spend time separate from each other, so once we got home I headed out for my afternoon. I had my library books to return, my journal to write in, my “Artist’s Way” book to read and my favourite fountain pen. I was ready.

Luke’s community bar on the corner (used to be my favourite, “The Red Door”) called my name and since I hadn’t had breakie or lunch . . . well a white cheddar omelette and glass of wine was just what I needed. I got to sit outside and enjoy the warm day (sheltered from the breeze by the plastic curtains). My favourite waitress pampered me and at the end of the meal, James (manager) came to chat. It seems he has given his notice and will be moving on in about a week. I will miss seeing him there since he gave the place that friendly and competent air. Since he lives in the area he says he will see me there still. It was a pleasant start to my afternoon off.

I headed on down the street and checked out the fall wardrobes in the shop windows. I so wish I could go crazy and get a sweater/jacket with scarf, long skirt and boots all in the camel or tan colours. I would love to feel trendy right now. I was disappointed with my Jones of New York store. They have gone 70% Anne Klein and don’t have the new line or colours I have been watching on the JNY website.  They are also quite rude every time I go in the store. Not going back.

After a saunter down to the library, I continued down Granville and up Broadway to Deserres where I indulged my Christmas card making ideas with some sale bling. I can`t wait to get to make up some cards. I returned to Granville and went to Starbucks for my cinnamon dolce latte with whipped cream and sat in a plush leather armchair near the window. Great to do some more journalling to finish off what I had started at Luke`s earlier.

It was soon time to head home. My afternoon of rejuvenation was excellent. I felt light and fit after walking everywhere. I loved being out and seeing the people again. It was just what I needed. I am going to plan to do something like this more often. Maybe I will even get to run away each morning for coffee – but not tomorrow. GF Strong is scheduled for 10 am and that is plenty early to get the two of us out and at it. Loved my day!

The Red Door patio - now Luke`s Bar and Grill

Author:

I am an aspiring writer coming into my writing career later in life. As an accomplished entrepreneur, wife, mother and grandmother, I bring a wealth of experiences to my writing. Loving challenges and change, I embrace this new path with my custom focus and involvement, starting with research and education. Believing that you can never stop learning has kept me young and fresh throughout my life. This new venture is no exception.

Leave a Reply

