Posted in Fiction Writing

Quote from: Writing | write anyway

Writing

BY BAGOY

Somehow I believe that writing was one way to let something of lasting value emerge from my little quickly passing life.

Most students think that writing means writing down ideas, insights, visions. THey feel that they must first have something to say before they can put it down on paper. For them writing is little more than recording a pre-existent thought. But with this approach true writing is impossible. Writing is a process in which we discover what lives in us. The writing itself reveals what is alive…The deepest satisfaction of writing is precisely that it opens up new spaces within us of which we were not aware before we started to write. To write is to embark on a journey whose final destination we do not know.

-Henri Nouwen, as quoted by Philip Yancey in his book The Soul Survivor “

I discovered this site during some web searching for writing tips. I have to admit that it gave a different perspective to the “why am I writing” question. In my late fifties and starting this new adventure seems a little . . . hmmm . . . late(?). At the same time I do find that I am almost drowning in ideas and phrases, plots and characters. I want to write everything down and then I get a pen in my hand and my head goes blank . . . lol. I am just going to walk down this path and see where it takes me. Feel free to come along!

Author:

I am an aspiring writer coming into my writing career later in life. As an accomplished entrepreneur, wife, mother and grandmother, I bring a wealth of experiences to my writing. Loving challenges and change, I embrace this new path with my custom focus and involvement, starting with research and education. Believing that you can never stop learning has kept me young and fresh throughout my life. This new venture is no exception.

3 thoughts on “Quote from: Writing | write anyway

  1. Hi. Thanks for dropping on my blog. I’m a great fan of Philip Yancey. Credit belongs to him and Henri Nouwen for the quote.

    Thanks. Keep blogging.

    Earl

  2. You’re never too old or too young to start anything. Not if it’s something that really grabs you and won’t let go. Also, like anything else, writing requires practice. The more you get in the habit of it, the easier it will get. Eventually, you’ll sit down and remember all those great character voices and plot ideas easily.

    While I’ve been writing seriously for over a year now, I’m still very much in the learning phase. I’m better now than I was when I started – and hope to keep getting better. You will too!

  3. Thanks “ekcarmel”. Having you take the time to stop by and leave words of encouragement, mean so much to me. I am procrastinating – I know I am. And the idea of just do it! is so true for me. Once I start to write I don’t want to stop and could easily never put my pen down. It is starting . . .
    Keep up your posts on your blog. I follow faithfully.

Leave a Reply

